Burse nga Qeveria Norvegjeze

Bursa » Burse nga Qeveria Norvegjeze

Postuar me: 28/10/2011 7:14pm

Afati: 01/12/2011

Niveli: Bachelor, Master, PhD

Lemia: Të ndryshme

The Quota Scheme currently provides funding for a total of 1,100 students, 800 of them from developing countries in the South and 300 from countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and in Central Asia.


The Scheme is quite popular both with the Norwegian institutions involved and among eligible students, most of whom are highly qualified in their field of study. Every year the number of applicants far exceeds the number of students admitted under the scheme.


Scholarships for students

The Norwegian State Educational Loan Fund is responsible for managing the financial support provided for the Quota students. Each student receives the same amount of money as a Norwegian student would do in an equivalent educational programme. 40 per cent of the amount is given as a grant and 60 per cent as a loan. However, the loan portion may be waived when the student returns to his/her home country after completing the course of study. Students who stay in Norway after finishing their studies or take up residence in another country than their home country must repay the loan.

Normally, the financial support given will not exceed a time span of four years for one definite study plan or a combination of two programmes. Part-time studies are not supported.


Additional financing

Travelling expenses for entry into Norway may be reimbursed (fixed price). Students can apply for one annual home visit if the educational programme lasts longer than one year and for financial support for travelling expenses for field work during the course of study. When the student returns home within 3 months after finishing his/her studies, the cost of travelling home is covered by the Norwegian State Educational Loan Fund.



SIU has managed the Quota Scheme since 1 January 2005 on behalf of the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research. The guidelines (Rundskriv F- 10-07- only in Norwegian) for the administration and implementation of the Quota Scheme for the academic years 2008–2009, 2009–2010, 2010–2011 were developed in 2007 by the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research in cooperation with SIU. The Norwegian State Educational Loan Fund is responsible for the financial support provided to students through the Quota Scheme.

Please note that the Ministry of Education and Research launched new guidelines for the Quota Scheme for the academic years 2011–2012, 2012–2013 and 2013–2014 in June 2010. Compared to the guidelines for 2008–2011 only a few adjustments have been made. You should be aware that the list of countries included in the Quota Scheme has been updated. Students from Jamaica, Surinam, Fiji, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia will not be eligible for admission to the Quota Scheme from the academic year 2011–2012. Kosovo is the only new country added to the list. See the complete list of countries included in the Quota Scheme here.